Uncategorized

Getting Saucy

This past Saturday I attended my friend’s 10th annual “Scrabblekah” party. Yes, it’s what your thinking, games of scrabble while celebrating Hanukkah. How fun is that?! Renee, our wonderful hostess was making an array of Jewish specialties like Matzoh Ball Soup, Gelfite Fish and Latkes. I was wondering what I could make to add to this beautiful spread.

I thought for a minute, opened my fridge and spied some local apples that were on their last legs and a bag of cranberries feeling useless. Oh what a fab pairing they would be! That’s it: Cranberry Applesauce. The perfect topping for Renee’s Latkes.

  • 8 1/2 cups peeked and chopped apples(about 3lbs), some tart, some sweet
  • 2 1/2 cups water
  • 2 cups fresh cranberries
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground ginger

Combine all the ingredients in a heavy-bottomed pot. Bring to a boil over high heat, reduce heat to a simmer, and stir well. Cover and cook for 15-20min, or until the apples and cranberries have cooked down. Let cool.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I puréed my sauce for a bit and I’m so happy with how it came out. Slightly sweet, tangy with a little spicy kick. 

Lucious on top of the Latkes. 

This sauce can also be served alone as a dessert or snack, and would be a great side for roast chicken or pork.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

