Uncategorized

Easter Special

It was a quiet holiday weekend this year with my oldest in Philly finishing up her Freshman year. Zoë and I zipped up to NH to enjoy some ham with my Dad & Step-Mom. 

We arrived Saturday afternoon and within  20min I left Zoë with her Grandparents and headed to downtown Nashua for a nice catch up with an old friend. 

Over a Guinness at Peddler’s Pub.

 
And some “Irish Nachos”.  

 Not sure how Irish they were, but the chips were crunchy and homemade and topped with bacon. My friend and I did not appreciate the bleach smell permeating the perimeter of the bar. However, the conversation flowed as did the beer so we tried not to think about it. 

Back at the homestead, we enjoyed a yummy dinner of ravioli and salad. Then a fierce card game of “Kings in the Corner”. I’m not a huge card player, but this game is pretty easy to learn and competitive. 

Easter morning we were treated to my Step-Mom’s fabulous scrambled eggs. I don’t know how she does it or what her trick is, but her eggs come out fluffy and perfect every time. I can never duplicate the texture. I had mine with asparagus.  

 

Dinner was going to be served at 1pm. A quiet affair, just us 4. Before prep, my Step-Mom went off to church, Dad started the bourbon glaze for the ham. I sipped some coffee and watched the bluebird while Zoë hunted for eggs.  

 
   
   
Watermelon Peep before noon? Sure! 

Soon it was time for us all to gather in the kitchen to prep the Easter meal. My Dad baked a good sized (10lbs!) ham. He actually had a hard time finding a basic smoked ham. Most were ready to go heat and eat spiral hams. Expensive too! 

  
I made my requested Asparagus Gruyerè Tart: this recipe comes from my collection of “everyday FOOD”. That really cool little magazine Martha Stewart used to publish. Each issue had terrific, fresh, vibrant, easy recipes. It’s a shame it folded…

Here’s the recipe: 

Flour, for work surface

1sheet frozen puff pastry

5oz shredded Gruyerè cheese

1 1/2lbs medium or thick asparagus 

1Tbspn olive oil

Salt and Pepper

1.) Preheat oven to 400. On a floured surface, roll the pastry into a 16by10 inch rectangle. Place pastry on baking sheet. W/a sharp knife, lightly score the dough 1″ in from edges to mark a rectangle. Using a fork, pierce the dough inside the markings at half inch intervals. Bake until golden, about 15min.

2.) Remove the pastry shell from the oven, and sprinkle w/cheese. Trim the bottoms of the asparagus spears to fit crosswise inside the tart shell, arrange in a single layer over the cheese, alternating ends and tips. Brush with oil, and season w/salt and pepper. Bake until spears are tender, 20-25min.  

 
Truth be told my puff pastry had seen better days. I think it had been in my freezer a little too long. While it wasn’t perfect looking, it sure was scrumptious. 

I loved that we had our own responsibilities in the kitchen. Zoë took pics and made a video. With my tart baking, I made some gravy with the ham pan drippings. Drippings make the best gravy!!  

 
  
A simple menu but oh so scrumptious.  

   
The sweet potatoes were Rhode Island grown. I roasted with onion and shallot. Then added a nice drizzle of Vermont Maple Syrup.  

   
   
 
   
 
It wasn’t really warm and sunny but that didn’t keep us from a Sunday Easter stroll! Once our bellies had rested, we drove to my Cousin’s house. It’s a holiday tradition. Our large extended family gathers together for dessert and lots of hugs.  

 
Debbie makes her Trifle. Claire makes the Boston Creme Cake.  

 
And Katie made Congo Bars.  

 
Goodness! It was a small but scrumptious spread this Easter. Zoë packed up some goodies to go and we hit the road. Feeling so thankful for a wonderful family weekend, we drove back to Rhode Island and tucked ourselves into bed. 

2 thoughts on “Easter Special

Leave a Reply

