Uncategorized

Pork and Pain

It’s getting to be that time again. No, not the time when daffodils bloom, crocuses peek out from the ground and birds start chirping again. Not quite. It’s scan and checkup time! 

First up today, a trip to the Orthopedist. If you’ve been following this blog for a bit you know I’ve been having hip issues since July. Hip pain brought me in to see my primary who found the mass. When my Nurse Practitioner told me I had hip displaysia it ended up being overshadowed by the discovery of the mass. 

Since surgery, my post-op pain has dissapated and the hip pain has reared its ugly head. A recent MRI showed a tear in my right labrum. Now a trip to another Doc to deal with it. 

Today was the day. I had some spare time this morning and a pork butt waiting in the fridge. When I’m stressed or upset; cooking calms me. The thoughts flow in and out easily when I’m chopping onions and mincing garlic. I was nervous about this appointment so got to work in the kitchen. 

  
I coated a 3lb butt with salt and pepper and seared in a hot pan on all sides. After pulling the pork out, I sautéed sliced onion till translucent and then added a couple cloves of garlic that have been minced. To the pan I added 1/2 Tsp of Chili Powder and 1/4 Tsp of Cinnamon. Let the spices “toast” for a bit then add 1 cup of water. Scrape the bits on the bottom of the pan, add the pork and bring to a boil.  

 
Add all to the crockpot and cook on low for 8 hours.  

 
The aromas coming from my kitchen were wonderful. I thought, “Oh man, this is going to taste amazing!” I cleaned up in the kitchen, finished getting ready, took one last sip of coffee and headed out the door. 

I got to the Orthopedic practice and was told my Doc needed more pics of my hip. After a deep sigh and probably a groan, I followed the tech down the hall. She had me put on these snazzy blue shorts. I think they look great with my flats; don’t you?  

 
After manipulating my hip in uncomfortable directions, the tech brought me to the exam room. My Doc and a 4th yr Med student greeted me, asked me a range of appropriate diagnostic questions. He also manipulated my hip in uncomfortable positions and proceeded to tell me my main issue was not the tear but my Hip Displaysia, something I’ve probably had since birth or early childhood. I’ll have to admit the fact that my Doc looked like a hot So Cal surfer dude, softened the wincing pain in my hip a bit! 

In all seriousness, we looked at my scans, he carefully explained what I was looking at, laid out my options while I took notes. We decided a few months of physical therapy would be the best place to start. 

After making appointments I walked slowly back to my car, settled in, turned on the tunes and drove off to work.

It was a typically hectic Monday, but hey, I had Carnitas waiting for me at home! While driving home tonight I planned out my meal. I’d sauté strips of red and yellow pepper, shred some pork, scoop up some juices and place on top of a bed of crispy lettuce. I practically ran up the stairs when returned home. Anticipating that awesome aroma in my kitchen. I put the key in the door, turned the handle and walked in. “Gee, that’s odd. My kitchen does NOT smell scrumptious! What is going on?” I walked into my cooking nook, looked on the counter and realized…..I had never plugged in my slow cooker! Damn, now THAT is painful. #reallyslowcooking

Leave a Reply

