Uncategorized

Eat your Greens!

We’re always told that aren’t we? Popeye had the right idea. Green veggies like spinach, kale, parsley have a ton of great nutrients. Luckily I’ve never had a problem eating my greens. Love them all cooked in a miriad of ways. 

This morning I needed some green to brighten my day. Inspired by a recipe in Bon Appetite magazine, I whirred in a blender; 

  
1/2 packed flat leaf parsley(leaves and stems), 4 kale leaves(center ribs removed), 1cup frozen strawberries, 1 banana(cut into pieces), 1tsp ground flaxseed and 1cup of water. Serves 2. 

  
It’s a very refreshing smoothie and not super sweet. I love it.

  
Work was hectic as usual. Straight from work I needed to pick up Zoë, and head to my book club meeting. After my meeting Zoë and I went to a RISD Graphic Design Dept. opening. We happily nibbled on assorted cheeses, crackers, fruit and  chips while looking at fonts and typefaces. 

By the time we got home, I was beat. The last thing I wanted to do was cook. However, I had ground beef in the fridge needing to be cooked up and 3 peppers bigger than my head, waiting to be stuffed. I couldn’t let any of it go to waste. Cook I must! 

 
I read over the excellent Stuffed Pepper recipe in my Whole 30 cookbook. I tweaked it based on what I had in the fridge. 

I sautéed 1/2 onion; chopped, 2cloves of garlic; minced, 1/2 zucchini diced, 1/2 lb ground beef, small tomato; chopped, 4 leaves of kale, middle rib removed, leaves chopped. While sautéing, I sprinkled in some cumin, chili powder, salt and freshly ground black pepper. I lastly squeezed in some fab tomato paste.  

 
My phone is being futsy so the pics I took of stuffing my big peppers have vanished. Oh well, you will have to use your imagination! 

After preheating the oven to 350deg. I cored my peppers & cooked them for about 10 min to soften up. Once my meat and veg mixture was cooked I pulled the peppers out and stuffed away. I baked them for about 20min.  

 
I have to say, I don’t miss bread crumbs and cheese. Ingredients you might expect in this dish. It was quite scrumptious without!  

 
Comfort food with shades of green. 

Happy cooking friends!

Leave a Reply

