Uncategorized

Crockpot Chicken

I love the idea of roasting a chicken and eating it for days. It is so versatile. Enjoy the same day with steamed green beans, roasted potatoes and perhaps some gravy. Then use the remaining meat in various dishes for lunch and dinner throughout the week. The only problem is, it takes time to cook and you must turn on your oven! A welcome task when there is a chill to the air. However, this week it was quite hot. I don’t need to add anymore heat to my apartment. 

So…..what to do? I roasted a chicken in my crockpot.  

 
Could not have been easier. Take a 3-5lb chicken. Remove the “bag of innards”, rinse the chicken and pat dry. Season the chicken liberally inside and out with salt and pepper. Sprinkle oregano and thyme all over. I had fresh herbs so I stuck some thyme sprigs inside the cavity, and stuffed thyme and oregano under the skin. Quarter 1 lemon, cut one garlic bulb in half. Place both in the cavity as well. Nestle the chicken in the crockpot.  

 No need to add ANY fats or liquids! Trust me. Set the time for 6-8 hours on LOW. When it is done, this is what it looks like.  

 Gorgeous right?! And those juices, oh my! The aroma is divine. The meat falls off the bone. I dig in right away. I removed the rest of the meat the next day. I wanted to make a Thai Red Curry dish using some local veggies I bought at the farmer’s market, but realized at the last minute that I had no coconut milk. A crucial ingredient. No biggie, I peeked in my pantry and fridge and whipped up Chicken Tacos. 

  
I sautéed onion, green pepper and zucchini. I seasoned the mixture with salt, pepper, cumin and chili powder. I would have added some of the chipotle sauce but it had been in my fridge a little too long and had to be discarded. No biggie. Didn’t need it.  

 While the chicken and veggies were sautéing, I made a quick guacamole. Really easy. Just smashed avocado with salt, pepper, squeeze of lime and a couple dashes of hot sauce.  

 I warmed up some corn tortillas and assembled my tacos.  

 Scrumptious. 

I added the chicken bones, juices, carrot, onion and celery to a pot, added some water and now have it simmering on the stove. Soup for Sunday supper!  

 

Leave a Reply

