Uncategorized

Soup’s On!



The sun came streaming in my kitchen the other day coaxing me to soak it up. 

My little friends convinced me to stay awhile and cook something.

Despite the warmth of the sun, there was still a chill in the air so I decided to cook up some soup. 

Lentil soup, a favorite of mine since I was a kid, seemed to be the perfect choice. The following recipe is vegetarian ( I do add Italian Sausage sometimes). A very flavorful, hearty soup:

Mediterranean Lentil Soup

  • 1Medium Onion Chopped
  • 2Tbspn chopped garlic
  • 4-5 stalks of celery, chopped
  • 5 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 1 14oz can diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups green or brown lentils
  • 6 cups vegetable broth
  • 1tsp dried thyme
  • 1tsp dried oregano
  • 1tsp dried basil
  • Sea salt (to taste) 

Sauté onion, garlic, celery and carrots in a small amount of olive oil. Add 2 cups of broth, and braise the vegetables for 10min, or until just tender. Add tomatoes, herbs, lentils and remaining broth. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer uncovered until lentils are cooked(about 45min). Stir frequently. Taste and adjust seasoning. Serve with a hearty bread.

I simmered the soup for a bit longer than 45min. I also added water. This soup is best  the next day, allowing flavors to meld overnight. 

I was so happy that my girls loved this soup! We had it for dinner one night and the next day, I filled their thermous with some for lunch. I even had plenty left over to freeze. 



What is your favorite soup? 

Leave a Reply

