Uncategorized

Chicken and muffins

No, it’s not the new trend. I do love chicken and waffles and we’ll keep that combo the way it is! It just so happens that one recent day found me baking and slow cooking…..
Let’s start with bananas. You know how it goes, those last 2 bananas didn’t get eaten fast enough and now they are turning black. Wait! Don’t throw them away, they are ready to be mashed and added to an easy batter for some yummy muffins. The recipe I go to time after time is an oldie but goody dating back to Bon Appetit circa 1999! I kid you not. Why change a good thing? Super easy, here you go:
Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins
Makes 12
Ingredients:
11/2 cups all purpose flour
2/3 cup sugar
11/2 Tspn baking powder
1/4 Tspn salt
1 cup mashed bananas ( about 2 large)
1 large egg
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup milk
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
Preparation:
Preheat oven to 350F. Line 12 muffin cups w/foil muffin liners. Mix flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large bowl. Mix mashed bananas, egg, melted butter and milk in a medium bowl. Stir banana mixture into dry ingredients just until blended ( do not over mix). Stir in chocolate chips.

Divide batter among prepared muffin cups, filling each about 3/4 full. Bake muffins until tops are pale golden and tester inserted into center comes out with some melted chocolate attached but no crumbs, about 32 minutes. Transfer muffins to rack; cool.

2015/01/img_7560.jpg

If you are a regular reader you know I love my slow cooker. It gets a tremendous amount of use. I have a new favorite “dish” I will be cooking up in my slow cooker on a regular basis.
Roast Chicken in the Crockpot
This could not be easier! I’ve tried a few different “recipes” and now this will be the way I cook it.
I cut up some carrots and onions into 2inch large chunks and make a full layer on the bottom of the crockpot. You could add potatoes and parsnips but I found my chicken did not fit as nicely in with too many veggies on the bottom. Keep it simple.
I then take a 4lb chicken ( or less, no bigger though, it will not fit!) , take the insides out and rinse/pat dry. Coat chicken with a dry rub mixture. You could use paprika, garlic powder, salt and all-purpose seasoning like Mrs. Dash. This time I used a mixture of thyme, garlic powder, salt, dried parsley and oregano.
Place chicken on the veggie layer, cover and cook on high for 6 hours or low for 8.
Do not add any liquid! The chicken releases it’s own yummy juices while cooking.
My kitchen smelled amazing and the chicken looked delicious. I will not buy a rotisserie chicken anymore.

2015/01/img_7563.jpg
For a complete meal you could cook up some rice pilaf, carve some slices of chicken, add the cooked onions/carrots and drizzle with some juice.
If you’d like a crispy skin you could transfer your cooked chicken to an oven safe pan and broil for a few minutes.
This chicken is now so versatile. I plan on making some chicken soup tomorrow during the snow storm. Prepping some chicken enchiladas for Sunday, and saving some for a healthy salad topping.
I just found out the Crockpot turns 75 today! Happy Birthday, yum yum.
The simple pleasure of coming home to a meal that is all ready.
Enjoy my friends!

Leave a Reply

