Uncategorized

Time to Stew

Winter has set in. Many a cold and grey day ahead of us.
A perfect time to cook up some stews.

2015/01/img_7469.jpg
I pulled out my handy dandy crockpot. As you can see it gets a lot of use.

2015/01/img_7470.jpg
Despite the fact that I am home most days, I have no time to spend all day cooking up a feast in the kitchen. I love slow cookers and recommend one to everyone I know! You take a little time prepping in the morning, place your ingredients in the pot, set the timer and go. No fuss, no muss.
I use the official “crockpot” cookbook as a guide and for inspiration.

2015/01/img_7471.jpg
I borrowed it (it’s on a long term loan) from my Mom. I love that she has written comments and suggestions throughout the book. She especially loves the meatloaf recipe.

2015/01/img_7472.jpg
This time around I made Beef Stew. In the book, the recipe is for a Wild Mushroom Beef Stew. I subbed a few items that I had on hand.
INGREDIENTS:
1 1/2 to 2lbs. Beef stew meat, cut into 1inch cubes
1/8 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1 1/2 cups beef broth
1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
1 clove garlic, minced
1 bay leaf
1 tsp. ground paprika: I used smoked
4 shiitake mushrooms, sliced
2 med carrots, sliced
2 med potatoes, diced
1 small white onion, chopped
1 rib celery, sliced
Put the beef in the slow-cooker. Mix together the flour, salt and pepper, and sprinkle over the meat; stirring to coat each piece of meat with flour. Add the remaining ingredients and stir to mix well. Cover; cook on Low 10-12hrs( or on High for 4-6hrs). Remove the bay leaf and stir the stew thoroughly before serving.

2015/01/img_7467.jpg
I did head out that day to run some errands. It was so nice to walk up my stairs and smell yummy food cooking!
I ladled myself some stew and settled in for the evening.

2015/01/img_7476.jpg
This recipe makes 5 hearty servings. A nice slice of crusty bread or some biscuits would be great alongside. This is such a family friendly meal. Both of my girls enjoy it; although Emma, my oldest, could without the carrots.
Go pull out your crock-pots my friends and Stew away!!

Leave a Reply

