Uncategorized

Road to Recovery

Thursday night I slipped, fell and badly sprained my ankle. Really not the best time to be laid up. Let’s be real there is never a good time to be laid up (or laid off for that matter).
Let’s make the best of this recovery time shall we?

IMG_6827.JPG
Since I can’t get around much let alone drive, I’ve been reaching into my freezer, pantry & fridge to see what I have to sustain and help heal me.
From the freezer:
Mushroom Barley Soup! Yumm.
Made this easy soup recently with 10min. Barley from Trader Joe’s, an onion chopped, garlic, and a bunch of sliced mushrooms.

IMG_6788.JPG
I sautéed the garlic and onion in some olive oil. Added the mushrooms and then a splash of red wine. Sauté for a bit more. Add a container or so of Beef broth and bring to a boil. Add barley till cooked. Add salt and pepper to taste. Hearty, warm and comforting.

IMG_6789.JPG

IMG_6792.JPG

IMG_6793.JPG
From the fridge:
Chicken sausage sautéed and served on a bed of baby spinach with a drizzle of Seggiano extra virgin olive oil, sprinkling of sea salt and freshly ground black pepper. Light, healthy and delicious.
From the pantry:
My favorite Tea!

IMG_6808.PNG
Best treat of all:

From my friend! Spinach Bacon Pie
So very scrumptious. I’ve been heating this up and enjoying for breakfast or lunch!
br />
IMG_6826.JPG
A scrumptious Spinach and Bacon Pie!!
I’m making it last all week. Breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Lest you think all I’m doing is laying around eating:

IMG_6829.JPG
I do spend much of the day with my foot elevated, listening to my favorite Radio Station and job hunting on my computer.
Hopefully, in no time, I’ll be running laps at the track. Until then, have a great day friends!

IMG_6779.JPG

IMG_6826-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

