Uncategorized

Sending Comfort

A friend’s Mom passed away recently. The news left me feeling sad for my friend & a bit helpless. Obviously we cannot take away the pain one feels when they lose someone dear, but we want to do whatever we can to alleviate the pain & sorrow.

Sending a card just wasn’t enough so I decided to bake brownies. Blondie Brownies to be exact. I love them as they are chewy, butterscotchy & laced with just enough chocolate from the chips. I am not a huge baker. Most of the time the precise nature of baking makes me anxious. This recipe however, from Martha Stewart was super easy & quick.

When the brownies were done, I let them cool, scored them so they would be easy to cut(okay, I may have cut off a corner to taste test), wrapped them up tightly in Saran Wrap & wrapped again in tin foil. Found the perfect box, wrote a note & express mailed them to his house.
As I was stirring the batter & adding the chips & walnuts I felt so calm. I love cooking for friends & loved ones. It is my way of showing I love & care for them. Frankly, I find cooking& baking to be very therapeutic. I found my sadness had lifted & I felt happy to do something for someone else.
“Those we love remain with us for live itself lives on, and cherished memories never fade because a loved one’s gone. Those we love can never be more than a thought apart. For as long as there is a memory, they’ll live on in our hearts.” Author Unknown……

20130503-105911.jpg

20130503-111659.jpg

Leave a Reply

