Uncategorized

Nature’s Candy

Ever since I participated in the Whole 30Whole 30 I have had the oddest cravings. I cannot get enough of roasted veggies!!! It really is the best snack ever. Roasting veggies brings out a wonderful natural sweetness. I love all veggies, but my favorites roasted are: parsnips, carrots, cauliflower, brussel sprouts and beets!
As a matter of fact I got so hooked on them I would run into Whole FoodsWhole
Foods
just to get a small container of roasted brussel sprouts from the prepared food section. Yes, some folks run in for a quick (all natural of course) candy bar, chip or soda snack. Me: roasted veg!
I’ve wizened up & have started to roast my own & save some $. You can too! Here is a quick & easy recipe for Roasted Beets:
Preheat the oven to 400deg.
Toss beets in oil, sprinkle with salt & pepper
Wrap each beet in foil. Place directly on oven rack
Roast till tender: about 60min
Open foil, cool 30 min(or until you can handle it! I waited about 6min. I was so hungry!)
Rub skins off, cut into wedges, coat with some fabulous olive oil like SeggianoSeggiano
Sprinkle with sea salt & pepper to taste.
Enjoy!

20130112-074253.jpg

Leave a Reply

