A Healthy Start

It’s Sunday night and like most people, I am anticipating my upcoming week. Working out my kid’s calendar in my head and headed back to work tomorrow. Mostly I am feeling thankful to be healthy!
My Dad and Step-Mom arrived last Sunday to watch the Super Bowl, eat my Dad’s famous guacamole and help me post surgery.

20140209-223228.jpg

20140209-223328.jpg
The surgery had been scheduled but a bad asthma flare up threatened to put all that on the back burner. Nothing a third dose of Prednisone won’t cure! It’s a strange powerful drug that takes care of a whole host of ailments. Not something I like to be on too long as my skin turns a bit yellow and I act a little more wacky than I already am!
Last Monday morning came and off we went to Women and Infants. I’m no stranger to this hospital and every visit the care is top notch.

20140209-224032.jpg
I even got to take these great dual treaded socks home with me!
After recovery, we headed home in the snow. But not before my Dad made a special stop at White Electric so I could get a post-op Mocha and Foremost Bakery Banana Choc Chip Muffin.

20140209-224401.jpg
My parents stayed till Tuesday and in that time proved how healing love and food can be.
My Dad made Chicken A la King,

20140209-224930.jpg
My Step-Mom brought her comforting Chicken and Rice Soup:

20140209-225043.jpg
And on Tuesday she made breakfast. She has the magic touch with scrambled eggs:

20140209-225212.jpg
I was sad to see them go, but the storm was headed our way and they needed to get back up to NH.
My Mom lives here in Providence so she headed over. She brought daffodils which were tightly closed one minute, then seemingly bloomed overnight:

20140209-225458.jpg
Mom’s turn to spoil me and take care of me with love and food!
For dinner she made a terrific dish of Panko encrusted chicken breats topped with a Dijon mustard sauce. Served with roasted potatoes and sautéed spinach and garlic. Delicious!

20140209-225731.jpg
For dessert?! Nothing but the best for this kid at heart: Jello!!

20140209-225834.jpg
The next day I was on my own. I was all set though. I was able to read the entire Sunday edition of the NYTimes
and enjoy my Mom’s famous red-lentil apricot soup.

20140209-230049.jpg

20140209-230122.jpg
The rest of the week was spent quietly recovering. Taking it easy and doing a lot of tea drinking, reading and thinking.

20140209-230625.jpg
Not only am I thankful my lungs are clear and my body is feeling healthy,

20140209-230933.jpg
But I am so very thankful all 3 of my Parents came over to help. I guess no matter how old I get, I’ll always be their “little girl”. I cherish moments like this and know that I will help in turn if they ever need me. I thank them for showing their concern and taking care, in part by making food. A passion they have happily passed on to me.
So happy to be healthy! Spring can’t come soon enough.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A Healthy Start

  1. pullupacouch

    Uhmmmm someone else made you food too!!!!!

    Sent from my iPhone Be happy!

    >

Leave a Reply

