Saturday Selfie

So it’s official: my cough is just an asthma flare-up no virus! Of course that means a dose of prednisone, but whatever works. The vice grip on the lungs needs to go away.
I was feeling pretty good Saturday morning so I headed out & about.

20140114-132530.jpg
My first stop was Providence PerfumeProvidence Perfume. For my Birthday my Mom gave me a gift certificate to make my own perfume, so I decided to use it!

20140114-160801.jpg
Charna Ethier is the delightful owner of this gorgeous parfumerie. I spent 2 hours with Charna creating my very own perfume! Her passion for and knowledge of perfume is expansive. I could have listened to her wax poetic about scents for hours! My perfume; which has yet to be named( Dish, Spicy Dish?) is currently “aging” for a few days. I will tell you all about the fun creative process in my next post.
After creating my perfume, I said goodbye and left in search of coffee!

20140114-162131.jpg
Of course I ended up in my favorite coffee spot, White ElectricWhite Electric
When you find a good thing why change?! The coffee is great, the baristas are fabulous, there is always cool artwork on display, awesome music playing and the food is scrumptious. On this day a guy was in the window seat concentrating hard on his pen and ink drawing.

20140114-162627.jpg
Once I finished reading the Arts section of The Times, I headed out to the Providence Athenaeum. Providence Athenaeum

20140114-163037.jpg

20140114-163127.jpg

20140114-163153.jpg

20140114-163214.jpg
It’s one of my favorite spots in town and did you know, one of the oldest libraries in the country? Edgar Allen Poe also enjoyed this very same library! I was not in search of his ghost but rather a fresh set of books to jump into and read.
I was pretty pooped after all that, but happy I ventured outside the comforts of my cozy kitchen. Checking out a new establishment and going to some of my faves, was a great way to spend some “me time” and boost my spirits!
Now I wonder what my special perfume will smell like?! Stay tuned….

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Saturday Selfie

  1. Katy

    what books did you get?

    • Jen

      “Where Love Goes” by Joyce Maynard ( finished already! Hit pretty close to home. Great book)
      “When We Were the Kennedy’s” by Monica Wood
      “At Home in the World” memoir by Joyce Maynard

Leave a Reply

