The little things

20130513-173705.jpg
“When lilacs last in the dooryard bloom’d,
And the great star early droop’d in the western sky in the night,
I mourn’d, and yet shall mourn with ever-returning spring.
Ever returning spring, trinity sure you bring,
Lilac blooming perennial and drooping star in the west,
And thought of him I love.

In the dooryard fronting an old farmhouse near the white-washed palings,
Stands the lilac-bush tall-growing with heart shaped leaves of rich green,
With many a pointed blossom riding delicate, with the perfume strong I love,
With every leaf a miracle-and from this bush in the dooryard,
With delicate-color’d blossoms and heart-shaped leaves of rich green,
A sprig with its flower I break.”
Walt Whitman

A sprig or two I did indeed break. I couldn’t help it. I adore lilacs. A beautiful color. They are so very fleeting!!! I inhale the subtle perfume, a smile comes to my face & my blues disappear.
Alas, no Lilac bush in my backyard. I did have to roam a bit to find some. Just a bush with plenty of blooms to spare. I certainly don’t want to hog all of the Lilacs!
I have a small bunch now. I am happy.
It’s the little things that mean so much.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The little things

  1. I once had a home that had a stone wall which I planted lilac bushes. It was heavenly to have them growing right near my dining room window. The scent would just breeze right in.

Leave a Reply

